# **Transportation Demand Management Technical Committee**

# **Meeting Minutes**

December 5, 2024 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM

Microsoft Teams



# **TDM Technical Committee members:**

Χ	Alan Adolf	Χ	Olivia Kahn		Heidi Speight	
	Mary Anderson	Χ	Veronica Jarvis	Χ	Dustin Watson	
	Priya Balan		Paul Muppidi*	Χ	LeAnn Yamamoto	
	Angie Coulter	Χ	Ina Percival			
	Jennifer Hass	Χ	Staci Sahoo			

<sup>\*</sup>Non-voting member

#### **TDM Executive Board members:**

	Roger Millar, chair	Jessica Gehle	Laura Johnson		Melanie Truhn
Х	Ken Casavant	Celeste Gilman	Charles Knutson	Х	Ted Vanegas
	Christine Cooley	Eric Hansen	Susan Meyer		Laura Watson
	Richard de Sam Lazaro	Kirk Hovenkotter	Chris O'Claire		
Х	Cathy Fazio	Alex Hudson	Lua Pritchard		
	Katie Garrow	Ric Ilgenfritz	Matt Ransom		

**WSDOT staff present:** Maya Agarwal, Laura Moxham, Patrick Green, Dani Walker, Wren Barulich, Brian Lagerberg, Don Chartock, Kelly Lauderdale

## Welcome and Announcements -

Meeting convened at 10:01 AM by Brian Lagerberg.

Marshall Elizer has left his position as chair of the transportation demand management (TDM) Technical Committee. We don't yet know who his replacement will be.

Thanks to committee members for joining the joint retreat in November. Welcome LeAnn Yamamoto and Priya Balan to the committee. Leann introduced herself. She works with Commute Smart NW and has been with Spokane County for 26 years. Priya was not present at the meeting.

Tiff West left Washington State Office of Financial Management (OFM) and is no longer on the committee. Staff is working to identify a new OFM representative as required by the commute trip reduction statute.

Bryce Yadon has stepped down from the committee; this citizen seat is vacant.

Excited to announce that staff will continue to work with facilitator Lisa Voight to help advance retreat outcomes. We're working on a scope now and will announce details at our next meeting. We will know more details in January.

Roger Millar's final day as Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) Secretary (and TDM Executive Board chair) is January 15, 2025. Roger expresses his gratitude to the committee. Staff are working on identifying a new TDM Executive Board chair.

Laura Moxham shared a staffing update: Kelly Lauderdale is WSDOT's new transportation planning specialist 2 (TPS2). Kelly introduced herself; she has prior experience with the Pierce Transit rideshare program.

#### Public comment -

None

# **TDM Technical Committee purpose** – Brian Lagerberg

Wren shared the committee's proposed purpose:

- Administer Commute Trip Reduction
- Oversee implementation of board priorities
- Advocate and champion TDM at a regional and local level

Discussion: Developing concurrence. Is the committee willing to try out this purpose for one year?

Question: are any of the items in the list prioritized? The first point is mandated by the CTR law, but the other points are also interesting.

*Answer:* Administration of the CTR program is priority. There is more work to be done; this is reflected in the other two items in the list.

Question: How can we address the inequities in the CTR program (i.e., its focus on weekday commuters)? TDM is more flexible for more types of commutes.

Answer: The third point in the list, advocate and champion TDM at a regional and local level, provides an opportunity to address this. The second point in the list, oversee implementation of board priorities, provides an opportunity to direct the growth of TDM and our work on it.

Brian held unofficial hand raise to see who among the committee is willing to try out this purpose for one year. All seven technical committee members in attendance indicated support.

# **TDM Executive Board 2025 sprint teams** – Wren Barulich

Wren shared the board purpose and 2025 initiatives.

At its November 20, 2024, meeting the TDM Executive Board expressed interest in sprint teams for "pursue TDM policies/programs" and "cultivate TDM champions."

The sprint team cadence will be determined. WSDOT will organize the teams. This is a test/pilot, and on each sprint team there will be a lead WSDOT person and committee person.

Aren asked, are there any committee members interested in joining a staff-sponsored sprint team? Olivia Kahn, Zarina Infante, Veronica Bean, Veronica Jarvis, Lucie Wu, Staci Sahoo, Alessandra Gonzalez, and Ina Percival raised their hands to express interest.

# **DECISION: CTR 4-year Plans for Approval** – Wren Barulich

Wren shared the CTR 4-year plans that have passed WSDOT compliance review: click <a href="https://doi.org/10.2016/ncm.nih.gov/">here</a> and scroll to "WSDOT approved 2025-2029 CTR 4-year Plans."

Wren shared a <u>presentation</u> that covered:

- Reminder of the committee's role in approving CTR 4-year plans.
- Planning timeline, including steps to submit plans.
- Acknowledgement of the work of those who submitted CTR 4-year plans.
- Reminder that for those that who are still working they can review approved plans on website and use them as a resource for their own CTR 4-year plans.
- The list of CTR 4-year plans that have passed WSDOT's compliance review, and that now the Technical Committee is voting to approve.
- Wren recommended the committee make a motion to vote to approve this batch of plans.

## Vote:

Olivia Kahn motioned to approve the list of CTR 4-year plans that have passed WSDOT's compliance review.

Veronica Jarvis seconded.

The motion passed unanimously.

WSDOT will send a confirmation email to jurisdictions whose CTR 4-year plans have been approved.

Wren mentioned that folks do not need to be present for their plan to be approved, and that WSDOT is reviewing metropolitan planning organization (MPO) plans separately due to different requirements. Another batch of plans will come before the committee to approve in January 2025.

# Closing remarks – Brian Lagerberg

We will know by our next committee meeting who WSDOT's new secretary of transportation will be.

The timing of retreat was very good, because it set up a solid baseline of work for us over the upcoming year.

Meeting adjourned at 10:46 AM.

#### Title VI Notice to Public

It is the Washington State Department of Transportation's (WSDOT) policy to assure that no person shall, on the grounds of race, color, national origin or sex, as provided by Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be otherwise discriminated against under any of its federally funded programs and activities. Any person who believes his/her Title VI protection has been violated, may file a complaint with WSDOT's Office of Equal Opportunity (OEO). For additional information regarding Title VI complaint procedures and/or information regarding our non-discrimination obligations, please contact OEO's Title VI Coordinator at (360) 705-7082.

# Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Information

This material can be made available in an alternate format by emailing the Office of Equal Opportunity at wsdotada@wsdot.wa.gov or by calling toll free, 855-362-4ADA (4232). Persons who are deaf or hard of hearing may make a request by calling the Washington State Relay at 711.