# **Discussion item: TDM Technical Committee term limits**

#### For the committee's consideration:

Add to the committee's bylaws:

1. Committee members who serve in termed positions are encouraged to vacate their position after two consecutive four-year terms to provide opportunities for other interested individuals to serve on the committee.

Or

2. Committee members who serve in termed positions are limited to serving in the same seat for more than two consecutive four-year terms.

# Background:

The CTR law (below) dictates that certain seats serve four-year terms. However, CTR law, rules, and the committee's bylaws are silent on the *number* of terms served by members in those termed positions. There may be value in the committee adopting term limits in bylaws to allow other stakeholders the opportunity to serve on the committee and/or maintain fresh perspectives on the committee.

## Who's affected and when?

#### Municipal representatives

- 1. Many Anderson, 4/2027
- 2. Kim Stolz, 7/2028
- 3. Oliva Kahn, 1/2030

# **Transit Representatives**

- 1. Jennife Haas, 6/2025
- 2. Carol Cooper, 3/2027

## Regional representatives

- 1. Alan Adlof, 7/2027
- 2. Veronica Jarvis, 6/2031

## **Employer representatives**

- 1. Staci Sahoo, 4/2027
- 2. Heidi Speight, 3/2029
- 3. Zach Carstensen, 6/2029

# Citizen Representatives

- 1. Angie Coulter, 12/2031
- 2. Bryce Yadon, 6/2029

- (1) A sixteen member state commute trip reduction board is established as follows:
- (a) The secretary of transportation or the secretary's designee who shall serve as chair;
- (b) One representative from the office of financial management;
- (c) The director or the director's designee of one of the following agencies, to be determined by the secretary of transportation:
  - (i) Department of enterprise services;
  - (ii) Department of ecology;
  - (iii) Department of commerce;
- (d) Three representatives from cities and towns or counties appointed by the secretary of transportation for staggered four-year terms from a list recommended by the association of Washington cities or the Washington state association of counties;
- (e) Two representatives from transit agencies appointed by the secretary of transportation for staggered four-year terms from a list recommended by the Washington state transit association;
- (f) Two representatives from participating regional transportation planning organizations appointed by the secretary of transportation for staggered four-year terms;
- (g) Four representatives of employers at or owners of major worksites in Washington, or transportation management associations, business improvement areas, or other transportation organizations representing employers, appointed by the secretary of transportation for staggered four-year terms; and
- (h) Two citizens appointed by the secretary of transportation for staggered four-year terms.